The Safford Ranger District comprises the mountain ranges surrounding the city of Safford, Arizona. These five ranges are the PinaleƱo, Galiuro, Santa Teresa, Winchester, and Greasewood Mountains. Included in this area is the highest peak of the PinaleƱos, Mount Graham. Mount Graham National Forest was a formerly separate national forest, combined into Crook National Forest on July 1, 1908. In 1953 part of Crook was absorbed into Coronado.

District Information

Latitude: 32.7017 Longitude: -109.8715

Counties: Graham, Pinal

Unique Flora:

Bigtooth maple (Acer grandidentatum)

Engelmann spruce (Picea engelmannii)


Unique Fauna:

American black bear (Ursus americanus)

Coue’s white tail deer (Odocoileus virginianus couesi)

Mount Graham red squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus grahamensis)

Highest Point: Mount Graham: 10,720 feet (3,267 m)

and flurries

Lowest Point: Aravaipa Creek: 4,460 ft (1,359 m)

and partly cloudy

What To Do

Image of Galiuro Mountains

Galiuro Mountains

The Galiuro Mountains are a large sky island mountain range of southeast Arizona, USA. It is a northerly mountain range in the Madrean Sky Islands region of southeast Arizona, northern Sonora in northwestern Mexico, and the extreme southwest (the “bootheel”) of New Mexico.

The range is noted for its height and ruggedness. The Aravaipa Canyon Wilderness encompasses the north perimeter of the range, and the large Galiuro Wilderness covers the central-south. To the south, the Galiuro Wilderness borders the Redfield Canyon Wilderness. A river valley borders the range to the southwest, and Aravaipa Creek and Valley border its northeast.

from Tucson, AZ

Get Directions

Learn More